Ginger & Carrot cake with a twist


Come winter time and my memories are of “gajar ka halwa” being prepared in quantities generous enough to feed a couple of large baraats. This was the scene at my house, nani’s house, my friends houses; year after year - I had “gajar ka halwa” coming out of my ears. As a result, I was totally put off by it for life. (To date I can’t indulge in this famous sweet delicacy)

But this winter, the sight of heaps of fresh red carrots at the veggie vendor, spurred the cook in me to try out a ginger carrot cake. Picked up a couple of luscious looking carrots (with Roger rabbit parading in my head, intoning “What’s up doc?”), I browsed a couple of food blogs to find a quick and easy recipe. None matched my expectations. Undeterred, I decided to modify my chocolate cake recipe and replaced the cocoa with the carrots.

The experiment was a piece of cake (pun intended!!)

Sharing the recipe and the twists I added to it, to make 2 unique tasting ginger-carrot cake.

cake1

Cake 1

Ingredients:

150 gms Maida

150 gms Brown sugar/granulated sugar  (adjust if the carrots are sweeter)

150 ml refined oil

4 medium size eggs

1/2 tsp Baking powder

Pinch of soda bi-carb

2 large carrots grated fine (one soup bowl full)

1″ pc of ginger, grated fine

pinch of dried ginger powder

1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon

Handful of Dried prunes/berries/dry fruits (optional)

1/4 cup of orange juice

cake4

Method:

Soak the grated carrot and ginger in the orange juice. Add the cinnamon and ginger powder and keep aside.

cake2

Chop the prunes/berries to small pcs and roll in maida/flour. This ensures that these don’t sink in the cake mix while baking.

cake7

Sift maida, baking powder and soda bicarb together 2-3 times. Break the eggs and beat to a soft fluffy mix. Add the sugar and beat some more till it’s all dissolved. Now add the oil in a steady stream, all the while beating the mix to incorporate it all together.

Add the sifted ingredients with a soft hand into this. Add the carrot mix and fold gently. Finally add the prunes.

cake8

Pour in a pre-greased cake tin. Bake at 200 C for 10 mts, then at 180C for another 45-50 mts (check by inserting a pin/knife to see if comes out clean). The oven must be pre-heated to 200 C.

cake3

Cake 2:

I set out to make this a second time and noticed the fresh raspberries in my fridge. Hmmm – went the mind gears!! Why not!!?

cake5

I sliced a handful of these and laid them out in a non-stick bundt cake tin. Then I poured the cake batter (made as above) directly onto this and baked as above. The result was…………………………………… simply delicious.

20130112_174146

The sourness of the raspberries balanced the sweetness of the carrots while the spices tingled the tongue.  And it looked all exotic and straight out of a fancy cook book page!!! All in all a divine experiment and henceforth recorded in my food annals for eternity. Too bad the cake finished before I could take a pic of while it was whole.

cake6

Do enjoy making this cake and leave a sweet comment out here to let me know how was it for you.

Note:

  • This cake will be slightly dense than a normal chocolate cake due to the carrots.
  • If it’s too gooey or takes longer to cook, it means the batter was too liquid. This can happen if the carrots are not firm enough, they will leave some water. (Can be avoided by reducing the qty of the orange juice & by ensuring that the carrots are fresh and firm.)
41 thoughts on “Ginger & Carrot cake with a twist

  1. This is too funny. As I’m reading your recipe I’m listening to some television show in the background. There’s a Christian cooking show on and the guy is doing French Toast in the context of the last supper…too surreal for my taste.

    Thanks for the recipe…looks awesome, now where’s that Ginger to help me out? :)

  2. Looks amazing but terribly complex. I only made my first carrot cake 2 days ago!
    What are the fruits you used in the bundt tin? You say raspberries, but they’re not British raspberries.

    • Its not complex at all- trust me. I am someone who cannot try complicated recipes. This is one of the most simple ones.
      And those are the Indian variety of raspberries- you can use strawberries or any other fresh ones – they will add to the cake definately.

      Do try it out and share the details with me.

  3. Gosh… this is so awesome…. sniffff snifff… went my nose… my taste buds went for a toss… now I really wanna eat this one. Will try soon. Looks so amazing… wow. U r a rockstar. :))))))))))))))))))))

  4. It sounds like a very good dessert. I have been told I make the best carrot cake any of my friends have ever eaten, I believe it is because I took every good carrot cake I have ever had and made a recipe that combined all of them. It has many of the same ingredients as this cake, I did not see a frosting recipe to go with your ginger carrot cake and it doesn’t have to have one but I use the starting traditional cream cheese frosting and add orange and lemon to the cream cheese topping which really accents the orange and lemon zest that I put into the batter which besides the ingredients in this recipe I add chunky pineapple to the mix and 4 carrots instead of two. Otherwise I make it with the same ingredients. I am sure it is a little healthier without the lemon orange cream cheese frosting but I don’t put very much sugar in the frosting so it is fairly healthy. Now I am getting hungry and I just ate!

  5. As a south Indian I grew up eating gajar ka halwa. In my high school cooking competetion I was placed first for preparing halwa. Nevertheless, I love your version of gajar ka halwa, what a blend!! Yummmmy post.

Leave a Reply

